Lens Whacking and Examples

-Photography Post-
lens whacking

Photo from http://www.philipbloom.net

Lens Whacking is a fairly new technique that I recently learned about.  It is used in Filmmaking and Photography, and gives you a very interesting look to your work.  Lens Whacking is where you take the lens off of your DSLR camera and hold it close to the camera with your thumb and index finger.  By moving the lens around at different angles, and pulling it away and close to the body to affect focus, you get a very interesting look.  It causes the image or film to have different focus areas, as well as allowing light to leak in and hit the sensor of the camera directly.  These cause light streaks and cool, rainbow colored circles.

Here are a few examples of my photography where I used the Lens Whacking technique. IMG_1078

Notice the focus on the joint of the lamp, and how all around that point is blurry and out of focus.  There is also a subtle streak of light from the sun behind.IMG_1065IMG_1090IMG_1105IMG_1119IMG_1120

Notice with this one, you can see the rainbow circles of light on the left side of the image.  I took this photo in RAW format, and it unfortunately lost a little quality when I exported it to JPEG.  The original has a little more light streaks and clarity, so I apologize for that. 😦

Now that you’ve seen the Photography examples, here is the same technique used in Film.  James Miller is a Filmmaker who has mastered this technique.  He does it very well, and this is a great example of how it looks on Film.  Notice the same blurring effects, and the bright flashes of light hitting the sensor.  It’s pretty cool! 🙂

Romance of The Light – By James Miller

I can’t wait to keep perfecting this technique, and add it to my Filmmaking tool kit!  I hope you enjoyed my examples.  If you want to see more of my Photography, you can go to http://www.tothestarsphoto.com.  You can look at, and purchase, any of my photographs.  Don’t forget to follow my blog, and my Twitter, on the right side of the FotoPhilm homepage.  You can also Like me on Facebook from there as well.  Thanks for checking out my post, and have a very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

