Top Movies of 2012. Plus Most Anticipated Movies of 2013

-Filmmaking Post-

Hello All and Happy New Year (Almost) 😉

In light of ringing in the New Year, and my obsession with movies, I wanted to share my top picks of 2012.  I wanted to also list not only my 2012 picks still on the must see list, but also my most anticipated films for 2013.  So follow along.   PS – My top movies are in no specific order, just a plain old list of which ones they are. 😉  There were so many great movies this past year, that it was hard to put them in some kind of order.

hunger games

The Hunger Games was an outstanding movie.  The books were phenomenal and had me completely hooked.  I was very happy with the movie and how it turned out.  Although the whole “shaky cam” style in the beginning made me a little dizzy, it was fine after I got used to it, and it worked for the feel of the movie.  I can’t wait for Catching Fire.

Total recall

I recently just saw Total Recall when it released on Blu-Ray, and I thought it was a very cool movie.  I never saw the 80’s original, but the 2012 version was top notch.  I’m a huge fan of SciFi, and this movie had all sorts of futuristic awesomeness.  I’m just mad I didn’t come up with some of those ideas first. 😉

Ted

Family Guy is by far, one of my favorite TV shows.  Every episode has me laughing, and so when I saw that Seth MacFarlane was making his first feature film, I couldn’t wait for it to come out.  As expected, Ted had me laughing so hard.  It was absolutely hilarious, and if you haven’t seen it yet, I strongly suggest it.

The grey

I was pretty impressed with The Grey.  It’s not a summer blockbuster, with explosions and special effects galore, but a very small movie.  Sometimes it’s these small, almost no name movies, that make it big and entertain you the most.  The story and writing were exceptional, and The Grey kept me on the edge of my seat.  I couldn’t stop wondering what was going to happen next.  Definitely check out this movie if you haven’t yet.

spiderman

The old Spiderman movies with Toby Maguire were not the greatest films of all time.  The new reboot is a different story.  Andrew Garfield heads up the Spiderman/Peter Parker role this time around, and I’m a big fan of his.  He is a pretty awesome actor, and was great in The Social Network.  This role suited him well.  There were one or two slightly corny moments, but over all I am a fan of this new take on the series.  Can’t wait for the sequel.

Prometheus

Prometheus was such a gripping movie.  It sucked me in completely and gets into your head a little.  That’s the sign of a great film.  While I’ve never seen any of the Alien movies (I know, crazy right? ;)), Prometheus was just as entertaining not knowing much about the other films that proceed it.  Although, I think it would help to watch the Alien movies.  I still need to get around to seeing them.  Damn procrastination.

battleship

I know, I know, Battleship wasn’t the greatest movie of the century, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The premise may have been a little corny, and some of the acting as well, but the action and special effects were amazing.  Plus this is another SciFi, alien movie, and I can’t say no to that. 😉

Avengers

The Avengers was mind blowing!  Who wouldn’t want to see a mash up movie with some of the best super heroes ever created.  Enough said.

Batman

Christopher Nolan is a filmmaking master, and he is one of my top favorite directors.  He doesn’t disappoint with The Dark Knight Rises.  From the hulking Bane, who sounds like a old, civilized British gentleman, who sips tea and reads leather-bound books by a fire, but also is a pure villain.  To Anne Hathaway’s stellar performance as CatWoman.  You couldn’t ask for a better movie.  Cinematography is great.  Writing is great.  It’s everything I want to strive for on my own films someday. 😀

The Hobbit Poster

Since I just recently wrote a review of The Hobbit, I won’t say too much about this one.  It was great film, and is a fantastic example of how 3D should be used.  If you want to check out my review, click here.

So now that you’ve seen my Top Movies of 2012, here’s a list of ones I still really need to see, plus my Most Anticipated Movies of 2013.

2012 Movies Still on my Must See List – Django Unchained, Jack Reacher, Zero Dark Thirty, Silver Linings Playbook, Skyfall, Lincoln, Cloud Atlas, Wreck It Ralph, Looper, Lawless.

Most Anticipated of 2013

Oblivion

Man of Steel

Star Trek: Into Darkness

After Earth

The Lone Ranger

Gangster Squad

The Great Gatsby

Pacific Rim

Now You See Me

Catching Fire

So there you have it.  I hope you enjoyed my top picks.  What are some of yours? Let me know in the comments below, and don’t forget to follow my blog to get updates on new posts.  You can also follow me on Twitter, plus Like my page on Facebook from the FotoPhilm home page.  Thanks for checking out my post, and wish you all a very Happy New Year.  I hope 2013 brings you good fortunes and plenty of happiness.  I feel like it’s going to be a great year for me, and I couldn’t be more excited!  There’s many more exciting posts coming in 2013, so stay tuned for that.  Happy New Year!!!

2 thoughts on “Top Movies of 2012. Plus Most Anticipated Movies of 2013

    • No but I will. Thanks for the link. Drive was a pretty good movie. Very different but Ryan Gosling did a good job in it. He’s a pretty decent actor. I like what the director did with it so his other script should be good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

