Windows 8. Catching the Attention of an Apple Fanboy.

A while back, I used to be a Windows user like almost everyone else. Windows used to be the standard for the PC market, but their big competitor, Apple, has recently been climbing in computer sales.

In 2007, I bought my first Mac. It was the glossy white, 13 inch MacBook, and I loved it. It took me about 3 months to fully learn how to operate it, coming over from only knowing PC’s. Since that Apple purchase, I continued on to buy an iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, and eventually a newer MacBook Pro. Anyone who knows me, knows that I am an Apple fanatic. Until recently that was true.

Now I’m not saying I’m going to run out and sell all of my Apple products right this minute. I do still love the company and the devices they make. But recently, I have been noticing Microsoft again, and all of their Windows 8 devices. The desktop software is very unique and different looking, and they did a great job of innovating the PC market. They are looking into the future with this latest iteration, and building a operating system from the ground up to be used with touch sensitive devices. Widows 8 is bringing a new era of hybrid computing. Most of their flagship laptops that come bundled with the software are this strange coalition of tablet and computer.

Take one of Samsung’s latest laptops for example. It looks and acts like a laptop at first glance, but the screen section is a touch screen tablet that can be removed from the keyboard, and carried separately. There is even a new Windows 8 laptop where the screen swivels around and when you close it, it turns into a tablet.

Ideas like these are something you would’ve expected out of a company like Apple, since they have been innovating in a lot of markets over the past few years. Even though tablets were already showing up, it wasn’t until the iPad came along that it really exploded. Apple also basically invented the multi-touch smartphone. But now Microsoft and all of their partnering companies have stolen the lime light, and I’ve got to say, I’m impressed.

Their ads are cool and hip. Their products are using cutting edge technology and introducing new ideas. And the price points are competitive. I would be a little surprised if Windows 8 wasn’t a big hit for Microsoft, once people get past the new age look and realize that they are thinking forward.

There are still a few quirks to be worked out, like with all new operating systems. If Microsoft were smart, they would listen to the feedback of their customers, and release some updates to fix/add some features. Then Windows 8 could really shine. I think in six months to a year, we will see what these devices are really made of, and they will become even better. Hopefully all of this will spur up some competition with Apple, since honestly, their latest line up of software releases and some hardware have been a little disappointing to me. Still love you though Apple! 😉

So what are your thoughts on the Windows 8 lineup of devices? Do you think Microsoft is innovating here? Do you think it’s enough to take down Apple and the popular iPad and iPhone? I know I’m eyeing some of the new Windows 8 Phones. They are looking pretty sharp. Let me know in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

